Attention: You are using an outdated browser, device or you do not have the latest version of JavaScript downloaded and so this website may not work as expected. Please download the latest software or switch device to avoid further issues.

News > Member Updates > OE vs EC Cricket 2021

OE vs EC Cricket 2021


OEA Cricket

On a sunny evening at the College Field the Old Elizabethans took on the Elizabeth College First XI in the annual past Vs. present match.  First XI skipper Morgan Clayton won the toss and elected to field. The current students looked fired up for the match and started positively with Ben Johnson swinging the red Dukes ball with ease. He took the first 4 wickets removing 2020 Captain Nathan Le Tissier, current teacher Tim De Putron, Carl Pugh and Matthew Merrien to leave the OE’s struggling at 33 for 4.

CJ Peatfield and Damian Wallen begun the fightback for the OE’s and combined well and took the score to 57 before the former was removed was caught behind off the bowling of Ollie Clapham. This brought Captain Zak Damarell to the crease he continued his fine batting performance at the College Field and top scored with 36 off 26 balls including 3 x 4’s and 2 x 6’s. The OE’s posted 157 for 6 in their 20 overs.

The students began their reply however they slipped behind the run rate and were restricted to 34 for 3 after 8 overs. Kieran Le Gallez again moving the red ball with ease and finishing with figures of 3 overs 1 for 12. The students always looked behind on the run chase and other than captain Morgan Clayton with 40 off 37 balls they struggled. There was some late innings hope with young wicket keeper batsman Joe Marshall he made 22 not out however the OE’s came out on top for the 11th year running. James Hudson was the pick of the OE’s bowlers with impressive figures of 4 overs 2 wickets for 18 runs including 1 maiden.

Similar stories

Most read

Have your say

This website is powered by